Unsend a message in Signal?
A lot of people have recently taken to Signal Messenger in order to safeguard their user data and privacy, meaning a lot of users are still getting to grips with the app.
As a result, a lot of things are still relatively unknown about how it works, and one key feature is too important to go without – that is the ability to delete sent messages or to unsend a message.
The inability to do as much on Apple’s iMessage application is one of the reasons so many of its users have made the switch to Signal or WhatsApp, which both do allow for sent messaged to be deleted before the recipient sees them.
How to unsend a message in Signal
The first thing to be sure of if you want to unsend a message in Signal is that you need to have downloaded a recent version of the app, as some of Signal’s older versions do not allow for messages to be deleted after they have been sent.
If you have installed a newer version, though, the process is relatively straightforward:
- Open the chat and find the message you want to delete.
- Press and hold the message until more options appear on the screen.
- Tap on the icon of a trash can that shows up above the on-screen keyboard.
- When presented with the option, choose ‘Delete for Everyone’. Then confirm.
- That’s all there is to it. Once you’ve completed those four steps, the message has successfully been deleted, but that doesn’t mean that the message will definitely not be seen.
So the question is, can a user see an unsent message in Signal?
In short, the answer is yes. But it’s not always the case.
Even after a message has been deleted by the sender, the recipient of the message will still be able to see that a message was deleted after having been sent to them.
What’s more is that the recipient may still be able to read the deleted message in their phone’s notification centre, provided the notification was delivered to them as soon as the message was received on Signal.