Facebook warns that 1 million users may have their passwords stolen after downloading malicious apps

According to reports, Meta will send a notification to about 1 million Facebook users. The notification will be to warn them that their accounts may be at risk. However, they can prevent the impending issues. According to Facebook, users may put their accounts at risk by downloading malicious apps from Apple and Google’s software stores. The company claims it found more than 400 malicious Android and iOS apps this year. Facebook claims that the apps are for stealing users’ login information. Meta claims that Apple and Google are currently aware of the apps. It also reveals that these companies have assisted in removing these apps from their stores.

Facebook reports the apps to Google & Apple

- Advertisement -

However, if you have already installed the apps, your Facebook may be compromised. Meta claims the apps were masquerading as photo editing, mobile games or fitness tracking software to trick users into providing account information. Apple said 45 of the 400 problematic apps were from the App Store and had been removed. A Google spokesman said the company has also removed all the malicious apps.

“Hackers know how popular these apps are, and they use the same theme to trick users and steal their accounts and information,” said David Agranovich, director of global threat disruption at Meta. “If An app that promises something too good to be true, like a feature that other platforms or social networking sites haven’t released yet, is likely to have ulterior motives.”

- Advertisement -

For example, a typical scam begins when a user downloads a malicious app. In addition to providing basic functionality, the app also requires Facebook users to log in. By this, it tricks them into providing their Facebook usernames and passwords. In the process, these unsuspecting users will give the app’s developer account access.

Meta says it will share anti-spoofing tips with potential victims. This will help them identify potentially problematic apps. Agranovich said the malicious activity took place outside the Meta system. However, it also reveals that the passwords of these 1 million users may not have been stolen. Nevertheless, if you have any app that you suspect to be malicious, you need to take action. You need to first uninstall the app, and then change your password.

Read Also:

WhatsApp Premium subscription. Are Going to Pay to use the App?

- Advertisement -

Source gizchina.com/
P